Media Release

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP

Minister for Government Services Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Minister for Prevention of Family Violence Minister for Women



Wednesday, 19 February 2025

NEW ABORIGINAL HERITAGE COUNCIL MEMBERS APPOINTED

The Allan Labor Government has appointed two new Victorian Traditional Owners to the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council and re-appointed another two Traditional Owners for a second term.

Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins today announced that Mr Tya Lovett and Dr Jennifer Mason will join the eleven-person Council, alongside the re-appointment of Mr Russell Mullett and Ms Elizabeth Allen for a second term.

New appointee Tya Lovett is a Gunditjmara man and senior educator at La Trobe University, delivering cultural management training to First Peoples. He is passionate about sharing knowledge to identify, manage and protect cultural landscapes, Aboriginal places, Ancestral Remains and Secret or Sacred Objects for all Victorians.

Dr Jennifer Mason is a Wamba Wemba and Dhudhuroa woman, and academic researcher at the Australian National University. Over the course of her career, Dr Mason has worked at the intersection of culture, community engagement and economic development.

Russell Mullett is a Kurnai man from Gippsland who has been involved in the cultural heritage management sector since the 1980s, beginning his career as a cultural research officer. He has been appointed to the Council, and elected as Chair, for a second term.

Elizabeth Allen is a Wurundjeri Woiwurrung and Dja Dja Wurrung woman, appointed to the Council for a second term. With more than two decades of experience working with community, industry and government her expertise focuses on fostering strong relationships and strengthening cultural, social and economic outcomes.

The Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council plays a key role in protecting Victoria's Aboriginal cultural heritage, as well as returning Ancestral Remains to Country.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins:

"The Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council plays a vital part in the management and protection of Aboriginal Cultural Heritage for all Victorians, and I look forward to working with the new Council members."

Quote attributable to Chair of the Aboriginal Heritage Council Russell Mullet:

"The Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council will continue to work with Traditional Owners to ensure all parts of Victoria are represented and work hard to return our Ancestors to where they belong – on Country."

Media contact: Michaela Weston 0403 483 023 | michaela.weston@minstaff.vic.gov.au