

Hon Jacinta Allan MP



Monday, 23 December 2024

COMMISSIONERS APPOINTED TO OVERSEE PARLIAMENTARY BEHAVIOUR

The Allan Labor Government is ensuring Victoria's parliament operates with the highest standards of accountability, conduct and integrity – appointing two inaugural Commissioners to the Parliamentary Workplace Standards and Integrity Commission.

Mr David Wolf has been appointed as Chair and Commissioner, and Ms Natasha de Silva will serve as a sessional Commissioner for the next 5 years.

The Commission will deal with allegations of misconduct by MPs, Ministers, and Parliamentary Secretaries including bullying, harassment, sexual harassment and victimisation – providing an independent process for complaints to be heard and addressed.

Mr David Wolf is currently Deputy Commissioner at the Independent Broad-based Anti-Corruption Commission (IBAC), where he has led the public sector portfolio since 2020.

Mr Wolf also worked with Victoria's first Chief Municipal Inspector as the head of the Local Government Inspectorate. He has extensive leadership experience and expertise in complaints assessment and public interest disclosure protection frameworks.

Ms Natasha de Silva is a former senior executive at the Australian Human Rights Commission, working with the former Sex Discrimination Commissioner, Kate Jenkins, on the Independent Review into Commonwealth Parliamentary Workplaces.

She has experience in confidential investigations of misconduct and is recognised nationally and internationally for her expertise in human rights, gender equality, and discrimination.

The Commission is supported by *Parliamentary Workplace Standards and Integrity Act 2024* and draws on the groundbreaking work of the Australian Human Rights Commission's Jenkins Report.

Mr Wolf will commence in his role on 2 January 2025 with Ms de Silva commencing on 6 January 2025.

More information about the Commission is available at vic.gov.au/PWSIC.

Quotes attributable to Premier Jacinta Allan

"This commission is delivering the most significant overhaul of parliamentary oversight in the country and will hold parliamentarians to the highest standards."

"I congratulate the inaugural Commissioners on their appointment. Their work is essential – as everyone has the right to feel safe and respected at work – no matter who you are or what you do."

Quote attributable to Commission Chair David Wolf

"I look forward to working with my co-commissioner Ms de Silva to ensure all MPs conduct themselves to the highest standards — as is their obligation as elected representatives of the people of Victoria."

Media contact: Zoe McLaughlin 0474 593 035 | zoe.mclaughlin@minstaff.vic.gov.au