## **Media Release**

The Hon Melissa Horne MP

Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Minister for Local Government Minister for Ports and Freight Minister for Roads and Road Safety



Tuesday, 3 December 2024

## NEW CHAIR APPOINTED TO GAMBLING AND CASINO REGULATOR

The Victorian Government has appointed Mr Christopher O'Neill APM as the Chairperson of the Victorian Gambling and Casino Control Commission (VGCCC).

Mr O'Neill brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the role, having been a Commissioner of the VGCCC since 2022.

Prior to his role at the VGCCC, Mr O'Neill served with Victoria Police for 45 years. He was Acting Deputy Commissioner in 2016, including in the Regional Operations, Capability and Specialist Operations portfolios.

Mr O'Neill has been recognised with several honours throughout his impressive career including the Australian Police Medal, National Police Service Medal, National Emergency Medal, National Medal and Victoria Police Service Medal.

He will replace outgoing inaugural Chair Ms Fran Thorn, who was appointed to the role on 1 January 2022.

Ms Thorn has overseen the re-establishment and strengthening of a standalone gambling regulator, as well as the comprehensive oversight of the Melbourne Casino in the wake of the findings of the *Royal Commission into the Casino Operator and Licence 2021*.

## Quotes attributable to Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Melissa Horne

"I congratulate Mr O'Neill on his appointment as Chairperson of the VGCCC – his background with the Commission and Victoria Police will bring vital expertise to the position."

"The gambling regulator has been significantly strengthened since it was re-established in 2022 and Mr O'Neill's appointment will ensure continuity and the embedding of these important changes."

"I thank Fran Thorn for her outstanding service to the Commission, and her dedication to reducing gambling harm and improving the integrity of the Victorian gambling sector."

Media contact: Jennifer Aitken 0467 745 963 | jennifer.aitken@minstaff.vic.gov.au