Media Release

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP Minister for Jobs and Industry Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Minister for Women



Thursday, 17 October 2024

TWENTY-ONE TRAILBLAZING WOMEN ADDED TO HONOUR ROLL

An internationally renowned folk musician turned Federal Court judge, a professor transforming the understanding of genetic diseases and a broadcasting trailblazer are among the 21 women inducted into the 2024 Victorian Honour Roll of Women, supported by the Allan Labor Government.

Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins congratulated the 21 new inductees at a ceremony last night at the Arts Centre Melbourne. The Victorian Honour Roll of Women recognises the achievements and contributions of some of Victoria's most remarkable women of all ages, experiences, background and fields.

Retired Federal Court judge Judy Small is being recognised for her contribution to the arts, as an outstanding singer songwriter in the traditionally male-populated field of folk music, writing about social justice, equality, feminism, peace and LGBTIQA+ lives – her songs are for and about women.

Women making waves in healthcare are well represented among the 2024 inductees.

Professor Jane Gunn is honoured for her transformative impact on women's health, alongside Associate Professor Kudzai Kanhutu who established a first-of-its kind telehealth service breaking down barriers for rural and culturally and linguistically diverse Victorians to access healthcare.

Libbi Gorr, a trailblazer in the arts and in media, has been recognised for her work across television, radio, journalism, teaching and live performance – and her efforts in forging a path for women in the arts and broadcast mediums.

Community heroes have been recognised for their championing of their local communities, including Lyndie Freestone, who is renowned in Geelong for her work with high risk and homeless young people, and Dalal Smiley, who works tirelessly to support women of migrant and refugee backgrounds in Melbourne's south-east.

Councillor and former Maribyrnong mayor Sarah Carter, who sadly passed away earlier this year, is also among the new inductees. She was the first woman to serve as mayor of Maribyrnong three times.

Since 2001 more than 750 women from across the state have been inducted into the Honour Roll for their contributions to fields including science, art, environment, law, social justice, research, health, media and education.

By celebrating women's achievements and recognising their contributions, the Labor Government is playing a vital role in increasing the representation of women in the public eye and building towards a more gender equal society.

The late Hon Joan Kirner AC, Victoria's first female Premier, created the Honour Roll to formally acknowledge women for their achievements and to encourage others to follow in their footsteps.

A full list of inductees is available at vic.gov.au/victorian-honour-roll-of-women-inductees.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins

"The Victorian Honour Roll of women recognises remarkable, intelligent and determined women who have paved the way for countless others, contributed to their communities and become leaders in their fields."

Media contact: Michaela Weston 0403 483 023 | michaela.weston@minstaff.vic.gov.au

"It's an honour to announce 21 new inductees to the Honour Roll – they join more than 730 remarkable women who have helped to build Victoria into the state it is today."

Honorary Ministerial Inductee:

Cr Sarah Carter *Melbourne*

Trailblazer Category:

Professor Julie Andrews OAM *Melbourne*

Libbi Gorr *Melbourne*

Professor Jane Gunn AO *Melbourne*

Judy Small AM Melbourne

Local Champion Category:

Lyndie Freestone *Geelong*

Dr Fartun Farah *Melbourne* Aunty Rochelle Linda Patten

Melbourne

Dalal Smiley *Melbourne*

Emerging Leader Category:

Keeley Johnson Ballarat

Aayushi Killian

*Melbourne*Dr Belle WX Lim

Melbourne

Change Agent Category:

Kate Austin Melbourne

Professor Melanie Bahlo AM

Melbourne

Associate Professor Ada Cheung

Melbourne

Associate Professor Kudzai

Kanhutu *Melbourne*

Professor Catriona McLean AO

Melbourne

Jennifer Morris *Melbourne*

Julie Oberin AM

Bendigo

Adjunct Professor Manjula Datta

O'Connor *Melbourne*

Associate Professor Jun Yang

Melbourne