Media Release

The Hon Natalie Hutchins MP
Minister for Jobs and Industry
Minister for Treaty and First Peoples
Minister for Women



Thursday, 3 October 2024

NEW APPOINTMENTS TO ABORIGINAL HERITAGE COUNCIL

Three new members of the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council will play a key role in protecting Aboriginal cultural heritage across the state.

Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins today announced the appointment of Dylan Clarke, Daniel Ross and Annette Xiberras to the Council. Each brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to their role.

Dylan Clarke is Chairperson of the Barengi Gadjin Land Council and has extensive expertise in cultural heritage management.

Daniel Ross has more than 20 years of experience working in cultural heritage management and the construction sector, including as a Field Representative and Aboriginal Heritage Officer for Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Cultural Heritage Aboriginal Corporation.

Annette Xiberras has worked in cultural heritage for 38 years, including as chair of several Aboriginal Advisory committees and boards.

The eleven-person Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council oversees the management and protection of Aboriginal cultural heritage across Victoria, ensuring responsibility for this heritage remains with Traditional Owners.

The Council's principal functions include:

- advising the Minister for Treaty and First Peoples on Aboriginal cultural heritage in Victoria
- making decisions about applications from Traditional Owners to become Registered Aboriginal Parties
- overseeing the reporting and return of Ancestral Remains and Secret or Sacred Objects
- promoting public awareness and understanding of Aboriginal cultural heritage.

Council members serve three-year terms, and recruitment is now open for additional upcoming vacancies.

Victorian Traditional Owners who reside in Victoria and have extensive knowledge and experience of Aboriginal cultural heritage management are encouraged to apply.

For more information or to apply visit <u>aboriginalheritagecouncil.vic.gov.au/become-member-aboriginal-heritage-</u>council.

Quote attributable to Minister for Treaty and First Peoples Natalie Hutchins

"These three new members of the Aboriginal Heritage Council will continue the organisation's vital work, ensuring Victorian Traditional Owners are central to protecting cultural heritage across the state."

Quote attribute to Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council Chair Russell Mullett

"I welcome the three new appointees and encourage Victorian Traditional Owners to apply to join the Council and continue the work of First Peoples in controlling and protecting their own heritage."

Media contact: Michaela Weston 0403 483 023 | michaela.weston@minstaff.vic.gov.au