Media Release

The Hon Melissa Horne MP

Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation Minister for Local Government Minister for Ports and Freight Minister for Roads and Road Safety



Friday, 7 June 2024

NEW CHAIRPERSON FOR MOIRA SHIRE ADMINISTRATORS

Dr Graeme Emonson will be appointed as Chairperson of Moira Shire Council's panel of administrators to provide continued leadership until the 2028 local government elections.

Dr Emonson, who currently serves as a panel member, will be appointed as Chairperson after John Tanner steps down from the role on 10 June 2024.

Under Mr Tanner's leadership, the panel has supported the appointment of an ongoing CEO to Moira Shire Council, the development of a Memorandum of Understanding with the health and education sectors, and the continued implementation of recommendations from the Commission of Inquiry into the Council.

The Allan Labor Government appointed the panel to Moira Shire Council in June 2023, following dismissal of the council in March 2023.

A Commission of Inquiry found that council could not effectively carry out its responsibilities in accordance with the *Local Government Act 2020* because of significant governance failures.

The panel will perform the role of the council until the October 2028 local government elections to ensure good governance is restored, and the community is better represented.

For further information about the panel of administrators and the terms of reference please visit: localgovernment.vic.gov.au/council-governance/independent-reports.

Quote attributable to Minister for Local Government Melissa Horne

"I'd like to thank Mr Tanner for his leadership of the panel and have full faith Dr Emonson will continue this work to move Moira Shire Council forward."

"Councils must faithfully represent the communities they serve – Moira Shire residents deserve quality services and a council that puts their interests first.

Media Contact: Ruby Wallace 0415476743 | ruby.wallace@minstaff.vic.gov.au